Cyclocross Tire Review

7 10 2008

A couple years ago, I made a review for all the cyclocross tires I had accumulated, to help me categorize them for different races or rides.  The selection below includes the most frequently used in my stable:

*Note: the higher the number indicates more of that quality on a 1-5 scale

WTB Cross Wolf 700x32c
Rolling Resistance: 3, Traction: 4, Mud Shedding: 3, Hardness: 4
This tire proves to have strategically placed knobs across the unidirectional cross-corrugated casing, providing a stable climbing and descending platform for rigid bikes.  Even with the high-profile knobs, there isn’t a tremendous amount of squirm in the lower tire pressure range – which helps with sharp cornering.  In loose terrain, the tire was entirely capable of cutting through to shallow hard-pack without sliding.  The dual compound manages limited wear despite being ridable in a multitude of conditions, and would be the preferred tire for pine needles and/hard pack sandy conditions with occasional roots or rocks.  It’s inspired me to tackle new challenges.  Its a great training tire, but might be a bit heavy for weight-weenie racers.  If I had one complaint, it would be the fact that this tire doesn’t make as cool of a “zip” sounds as with the Interwolf.

WTB Inter Wolf (700x38c)

Rolling Resistance: 2, Traction: 1, Mud Shedding: 2, Hardness:2

I have frequently gone back to this for pothole-covered road commuting although the dual compound is magnetic for goatheads.  It has a tendency to spin-out on climbs because of the relatively slick-style tread, and had trouble doing switchbacks because of its width on singletrack turns.  I definitely wouldn’t race on it, because it’s kinda heavy and doesn’t accelerate well at all.  It’s also not UCI legal (needs be under 35 width), not that I am doing any of those races.

Maxxis Larsen Mimo CX (700x32c)

Rolling Resistance: 1, Traction: 4, Mud Shedding: 1, Hardness:1

This is one tire that accelerates well in Bay Area conditions, because the casing sits tall, and it has scattered mid-profile knobs.  Because of the scattered nature, however, it also wears fast if ridden on pavement often, and squirms in sharp turns.  Good for fast, flat and sandy routes.

Michelin Mud/Sprint (700x32c)

Rolling Resistance: 2, Traction: 5, Mud Shedding: 5, Hardness:1

These tires are probably my favorite off the shelf, because of the way it makes the bike feel connected to the terrain, but it wears ridiculously fast even if you don’t ride much pavement. They’re are also suitable for specified front (Mud) and rear (Sprint), so that you get the hook-up on the climbs and turns, without loosing momentum on acceleration.  It also repels Mud like I wish I could repel poison oak.

Continental Twister (700x32c)

Rolling Resistance: 4, Traction: 5, Mud Shedding: 3, Hardness:5

This is the perfect tire for technical riding on your ‘cross bike.  Its not good for moving fast on pavement or hard-pack, unless you like working against yourself.  It does, however, grips rocks and roots extremely well, as if the hard compound seeps an anti-weather substance.  If I even move back East and am forced to ride on the ice, again – this would be my tire of choice.

Kenda Kwick (700×32)T

Rolling Resistance: 4, Traction: 1, Mud Shedding: 2, Hardness:5

These tires are what I was first sold as a multi-purpose tire.  It served as a fairly heavy, yet puncture resistant city tire.  I rarely rode it off-road, as the knob profile was shallow and arrow shaped.  The variation in density and traction changed little when tire pressure was released.

Ritchey Speedmax (700×30)

Rolling Resistance: 3, Traction: 3, Mud Shedding: 2, Hardness: 3

Much like my first pair, but with squared knobs on the outside and smoother center tread.  This was curious to me: two tires in one.  When changing a flat, the bead was particularly tight on the hooked rim -resulting in detachment from the casing.  Not impressive.

WTB All-Terrainasaurus (700x32c)

Rolling Resistance: 1, Traction: 3, Mud Shedding: 3, Hardness:5

I used to have this unbelievably awesome commute from Oakland to Mill Valley, and often split my route with dirt in either direction.  This was the perfect tire, because of its low rolling resistance and natural flat-proofing on pavement.   It is also versatile as the harder compound doesn’t wear fast (but is heavy), and can be deflated a bit for off-road adventures, enabling the outer knobs to hook up on dirt.  Its very affordable, too.


Actions

Information

4 responses

8 10 2008
Geoff

I agree w/ you on the Michelin muds. They work really well, especially as a front tire. I like the Mimo’s too. Not so hot on any of the WTB offerings. I just replaced my front cross wolf w/ the IRD tire that’s based on the Fire XC Pro MTB tire. I gotta say, it really hooks up well. I like more square knobs than pointy directional ones, and this IRD tire is a super nice riding tire…for a clincher. I’ve paired it w/ a Kenda small block 8 in the back. Small, tightly spaced square knobs (based on the nevegal design) makes for surprisingly ample traction, although it’s not a mud tire, and it’s really fast w/ a more supple than average casing. The Panaracer cross-blaster is another tire that works exceedingly well here in NorCal.

If course, this is for training, in races I roll on tubies. Currently I find the Vittoria to be the best value in terms of working as well as (or better than) Tufo’s or Challenge Grifo’s, but they are like half the price. I am not a fan of the Tufo’s, they just don’t hook up the way I want, especially for the money. Never ridden the Flexus, so I can’t comment on that.

I just ordered the new Conti World Cup tubular in a 35mm. I’m anxiously waiting to see how those babies will work. I went w/ the wider tire because, well, narrow tires are for mud, and we ain’t gonna be racing in much of that.

Woo-Hoo!

9 10 2008
-p-

I used to rock the All-Terrainasaurus on my commuter bike but found the tread wore out quickly. I switched to an in-cut design instead of knobs. I did however, put the All-Terrainasaurus’ on my cross bike and have been very happy. I found my Ritchey Speed Max’s outer knobs deflected too much on corners and the tread threw mud more than gripped it. The WTB tire is better in these regards.

21 10 2008
FallDownGoBoom

I’ve ridden WTB crosswolf, Ritchey Excavader, IRD Crossfire, and some of the various semi-slick clinchers. I now race on Tufo’s Elite 32 tubulars (in yellow, which makes them faster ya know), but previously raced on the Vittoria tubular tires. An important point is that I also use a box section rim which has a little give compared to the uber-stiff deep section wallet-suckers.

The previous poster’s comments about the lower cost is very valid for the Vittoria tires, but the casing is way too stiff and does not conform well to rocky or bumpy courses, and it certainly doesn’t hook up well at medium pressures.

My Tufos are VERY supple, light weight (I think 320g for the 32mm), shed mud like they’re coated with teflon, and in sandy, bumpy, or dry conditions I have no complaints. They’re so-so for traction in mud, but no tire under 34mm is great. The only question/concern I have is that the rubber is so soft and sticky (a good thing) their longevity may be of concern if your races have a lot of pavement or hard cornering on rocks/dirt. I am 165lbs and I run 30-35 psi, which allows me a wicked amount of traction on grass or descents/braking. Good s**t, I see no reason to change.

Everyone has their own riding style and setup, but a tiny change in air pressure or rim choice WILL make a big difference. More importantly, operator skills or errors will account for most all of a person’s view of a tire. Just get out and ride!

18 03 2010
TC

This information was very helpful for my next tire selection: a WTB Cross Wolf. Thank you for your original research and posting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

